1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Outer Critics Award Nominations - 2009

'Shrek' and 'Billy Elliot' Top Outer Critics Nominations


Shrek the Musical, Broadway, New York,

Brian d'Arcy James, Daniel Breaker, and Sutton Foster

Photo by Joan Marcus

The Outer Critics Circle, comprised of New York theater critics from outside the city or representing national publications, nominates top Broadway and off-Broadway musicals and plays for its annual awards.

This year's nominations were announced April 20 by Rececca Luker and Danny Burstein. Winners were announced May 11, and an awards dinner followed at Sardi's Restaurant on May 21.

Following are the 2009 nominees for the 59th annual awards:

  • Outstanding New Play
    God of Carnage
    Irena’s Vow
    reasons to be pretty
    33 Variations

  • Outstanding New Broadway Musical
    Billy Elliot the Musical
    Rock of Ages
    Shrek the Musical
    A Tale of Two Cities

  • Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
    Becky Shaw
    Farragut North
    Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them

  • Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
    Rooms: A Rock Romance
    The Toxic Avenger
    What’s That Smell? The Music of Jacob Sterling

  • Outstanding New Score (Broadway and Off-Broadway)
    Billy Elliot the Musical
    Rooms: A Rock Romance
    Shrek the Musical

  • Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway and Off-Broadway)
    Blithe Spirit
    The Cripple of Inishmaan
    Joe Turner’s Come and Gone
    The Norman Conquests
    Waiting for Godot

  • Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway and Off-Broadway)
    Enter Laughing
    Pal Joey
    West Side Story

  • Outstanding Director of a Play
    Garry Hynes, The Cripple of Inishmaan
    Anthony Page, Waiting for Godot
    Bartlett Sher, Joe Turner’s Come and Gone
    Matthew Warchus, The Norman Conquests
    Moises Kaufman, 33 Variations

  • Outstanding Director of a Musical
    Stephen Daldry, Billy Elliot the Musical
    Arthur Laurents, West Side Story
    Jason Moore, Shrek the Musical
    Diane Paulus, Hair
    Susan Stroman, Happiness

  • Outstanding Choreographer
Karole Armitage, Hair
Andy Blankenbuehler, 9 to 5
Peter Darling, Billy Elliot the Musical
Josh Prince, Shrek the Musical
Susan Stroman, Happiness

  • Outstanding Set Design (Play and Musical)
Tim Hatley, Shrek the Musical
Santo Loquasto, Waiting for Godot
Derek McLane, 33 Variations
Ian MacNeil, Billy Elliot the Musical
Walt Spangler, Desire Under the Elms

  • Outstanding Costume Design (Play and Musical)
Nicky Gillibrand, Billy Elliot the Musical
Tim Hatley, Shrek the Musical
John Napier, Equus
Martin Pakledinaz, Blithe Spirit
Catherine Zuber, Joe Turner's Come and Gone

  • Outstanding Lighting Design (Play and Musical)
Kevin Adams, Hair
Rick Fisher, Billy Elliot the Musical
David Hersey, Equus
Peter Kaczorowski, Ruined
David Lander, 33 Variations

  • Outstanding Actor in a Play
Raúl Esparza, Speed-the-Plow
Bill Irwin, Waiting for Godot
Nathan Lane, Waiting for Godot
Geoffrey Rush, Exit the King
Thomas Sadoski, reasons to be pretty

  • Outstanding Actress in a Play
Saidah Arrika Ekulona, Ruined
Carla Gugino, Desire Under the Elms
Marcia Gay Harden, God of Carnage
Janet McTeer, Mary Stuart
Harriet Walter, Mary Stuart

  • Outstanding Actor in a Musical
James Barbour, A Tale of Two Cities
Matt Cavenaugh, West Side Story
Brian d'Arcy James, Shrek the Musical
Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing
David Pittu, What's That Smell? The Music of Jacob Sterling

  • Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Sutton Foster, Shrek the Musical
Megan Hilty, 9 to 5
Leslie Kritzer, Rooms: A Rock Romance
Nancy Opel, The Toxic Avenger
Josefina Scaglione, West Side Story

  • Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Zach Grenier, 33 Variations
John Benjamin Hickey, Mary Stuart
Russell G. Jones, Ruined
Patrick Page, A Man for All Seasons
David Pearse, The Cripple of Inishmaan

  • Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Angela Lansbury, Blithe Spirit
Andrea Martin, Exit the King
Kristine Nielsen, Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them
Susan Louise O'Connor, Blithe Spirit
Condola Rashad, Ruined

  • Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Daniel Breaker, Shrek the Musical
Aaron Simon Gross, 13
Gregory Jbara, Billy Elliot the Musical
Christopher Sieber, Shrek the Musical
Wesley Taylor, Rock of Ages

  • Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Kathy Fitzgerald, 9 to 5
Haydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot the Musical
Karen Olivo, West Side Story
Martha Plimpton, Pal Joey
Carole Shelley, Billy Elliot the Musical

  • Outstanding Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, Sleepwalk With Me
Mike Burstyn, Lansky
Mike Daisey, If You See Something, Say Something
Lorenzo Pisoni, Humor Abuse
Matt Sax, Clay

  • Outstanding Ensemble Performance
    The Norman Conquests - Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter, Amanda Root

  • John Gassner Award
    Annie Baker, Body Awareness
Gina Gionfriddo, Becky Shaw
Beau Willimon, Farragut North

  • Special Achievement Award
David Alvarez, Trent Kowalik, Kiril Kulish for Billy Elliot

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.