1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2012 Drama League Awards, Plays

Honoring the Best in Musical Theatre, Plays, and Directing


2012 Drama League Awards, Plays

Drama League Award

Drama League Awards

Beginning this year, the Drama League Awards Eligibility Committee determined that productions transferring from Off-Broadway to Broadway, or vice versa, in successive years are now eligible for consideration in both seasons. This ruling differs from other awards that will only consider a production once.

The Drama League Awards also recognize productions in the Musical Theatre categories.



  • Clybourne Park
    Walter Kerr Theatre
    Producers: Jujamcyn Theatres, Jane Bergere, Roger Berlind/Quintet Productions, Eric Falkenstein/Dan Frishwasser, Ruth Hendel/Harris Karma Productions, JTG Theatricals, Daryl Roth, Jon B. Platt, Center Theatre Group
  • The Columinst
    Manhattan Theatre Club
    Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer
  • The Intelligent Homosexual’s Guide to Capitalism and Socialism with a Key to the Scriptures
    Signature Theatre Company and The Public Theater
    James Houghton, Founding Artistic Director, Signature Theatre Company; Erika Mallin, Executive Director; Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director, The Public Theater; Patrick Willingham, Executive Director
  • The Lyons
    Vineyard Theatre/Cort Theatre
    Kathleen K. Johnson, producer; Vineyard Theater, producer; Jonathan Tessero, Associate Producer
  • One Man, Two Guvnors
    Music Box Theatre
    Producers: Bob Boyett, The National Theatre of Great Britain, National Angels, Chris Harper, Tim Levy, Scott Rudin, Roger Berlind, Harriet Newman Leve, Stephanie P. McClelland, Broadway Across America, Daryl Roth, Jam Theatricals, Sonia Friedman, Harris Karma Productions, Deborah Taylor, Richard Willis
  • Other Desert Cities
    Lincoln Center Theatre
    Andre Bishop, Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten, Executive Producer
  • Peter and The Starcatcher
    Brooks Atkinson Theatre
    Producers: Nancy Nagel Gibbs, Greg Schaffert, Eva Price, Tom Smedes, Disney Theatrical Productions, Suzan & Ken Wirth/DeBartola Miggs, Catherine Scheiber/Daveed Frazier & Mark Thompson, Jack Lane, Jane Dubin, Allan S. Gordon/Adam S. Gordon, Baer & Casserly/Nathan Vernon, Rich Affannato/Peter Stern, Brunish & Trinchero/Laura Little Productions, Larry Hirschhorn/Hummel & Greene, Jamie deRoy & Probe Prods./Radio Mouse Ent., Hugh Hysell/Freedberg & Dale, New York Theatre Workshop
  • Tribes
    Barrow Street Theatre
    Producers: Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, and Scott Morfee
  • Seminar
    John Golden Theatre
    Producers: Jeffrey Finn, Jill Furman, John N. Hart, Jr., Patrick Milling Smith, Roy Furman, David Ivan, David Mirvish, Amy Nauiokas and James Spry
  • Septimus and Clarissa
    Ripe Time/Baruch Performing Arts Center
    Rachel Dickstein, Artistic Director; Wesley Middleton, Producing Director
  • Venus in Fur
    Manhattan Theatre Club/Lyceum Theatre
    Producers: Jon B. Platt, Scott Landis, Manhattan Theatre Club, Jessica R. Jenen, Scott M. Delman and Classic Stage Company



  • And God Created Great Whales
    The Culture Project
    Allan Buchman, Artistic Director; Nan Richardson, Executive Director
  • Death of a Salesman
    Ethel Barrymore Theatre
    Producers: Scott Rudin, Stuart Thompson, Jon B. Platt, Columbia Pictures, Jean Doumanian, Merritt Forrest Baer, Roger Berlind, Scott M. Delman, Sonia Friedman Productions, Ruth Hendel, Carl Moellenberg, Scott and Brian Zerlinger, Eli Bush
  • Gore Vidal’s The Best Man
    Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre
    Producers: Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Infinity Stages, Universal Pictures Stage Productions, Barbara Manocherian/Michael Palitz, The Broadway Consortium/Ken Mahoney, Kathleen K. Johnson, Andy Sandberg, Fifty Church Street Productions, Larry Hirschhorn/Bennu Productions, Patty Baker, Paul Boskind and Martian Entertainment, Wendy Federman, Mark S. Golub and David S. Golub, Cricket Hooper Jiranek, Stewart F. Lane and Bonnie Comley, Carl Moellenberg, Harold Thau, Will Trice
  • How I Learned To Drive
    Second Stage Theatre
    Carole Rothman, Artistic Director; Casey Reitz, Executive Director
  • Look Back in Anger
    Roundabout Theatre Company
    Todd Haimes, Artistic Director; Julia C. Levy, Executive Director
  • The Maids
    Red Bull Theater
    Jesse Berger, Artistic Director; Wendy Anderson, Director of Artistic/Strategic Development
  • Wit
    Manhattan Theatre Club
    Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer


The Drama League also recognizes the contributions to the season of its previous Distinguished Performance Award winners including:

  • Norbert Leo Butz, How I Learned To Drive
  • Zoe Caldwell, Elective Affinities
  • Kathleen Chalfant, Painting Churches
  • Stockard Channing, Other Desert Cities
  • Rosemary Harris, The Road To Mecca
  • Hugh Jackman, Hugh Jackman: Back On Broadway
  • Sir Derek Jacobi, King Lear
  • James Earl Jones, Gore Vidal’s The Best Man
  • Frank Langella, Man and Boy
  • John Lithgow, The Columnist
  • Patti LuPone, An Evening with Patti LuPone and Mandy Patinkin
  • Bebe Neuwirth, A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Bernadette Peters, Follies
  • Sam Waterston, King Lear


  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Musicals & Theater
  4. Plays
  5. 2012 Drama League Awards, Plays

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.