1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2012 Theatre World Awards

Honoring Performers Making their Debuts on Broadway and Off-Broadway


2012 Theatre World Awards

Theatre World Awards for 2012

Theatre World Awards

Begun in 1945, the Theatre World Awards (TWA) are the oldest awards given for the best Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances in a season. The 2012 Theatre World Awards will be the 68th Annual presentation of the awards and will be held June 5, 2012, at the Belasco Theatre, located at 111 West 44th Street.

A few of the notable performers who have won a TWA early in their careers include Alan Alda, Julie Andrews, Alec Baldwin, Anne Bancroft, Marlon Brando, Zoe Caldwell, Rosemary Harris, James Earl Jones, Grace Kelly, Audra McDonald, Liza Minnelli, Al Pacino, Bernadette Peters, Christopher Plummer, Meryl Streep, Christopher Walken, to name a few.

The 2012 Theatre World Awards presenters include previous TWA winners John Cullum, Victor Garber, Josh Grisetti, Leslie Uggams, Tony Sheldon currently in Priscilla Queen of the Desert, David Alan Grier from the Tony-nominated The Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, John Rubinstein, Wesley Taylor, and Lizbeth Mackay. The event will also feature special performances by Broadway favorites Brian Stokes Mitchell, Michael Cerveris currently seen on Broadway in Evita, Howard McGillin, and Stephanie Umoh.

2012 Theatre World Award Winners:



The "2012 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence" will be presented by Stacey Keach to Susan Pourfar for Tribes. The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater honors an outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway performance and is selected by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation combined with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards committee. Dorothy Loudon made her Broadway debut in Nowhere to Go But Up, winning a Theatre World Award for her performance, and went on to become a legend in the industry with performances in Noises Off, West Side Waltz, Ballroom, and won the 1977 Tony Award for Best Actress in a Musical for her role as "Miss Hannigan" in Annie.

The winners of the Theatre World Awards are selected by the Theatre World Awards committee, which is currently comprised of David Cote, Joe Dziemianowicz, Peter Filichia , Harry Haun, Matthew Murray, Frank Scheck and Linda Winer. The June 5th ceremony is by-invitation-only, and this year's event will also have ASL interpretation.

The Theatre World Awards presentation will emceed by theatre author Peter Filichia, with direction by Barry Keating, and Mary K. Botosan and Erin Oestreich co-producing.

The Theatre World Annual is also produced by the Theatre World Awards organization and is considered by many to be the definitive record of current American theatre. The annual tome includes photos and statistics from productions that appear on Broadway, Off-Broadway, Off-Off Broadway, and across the United States in regional companies. The annual also features special sections for obituaries, highlights of long-running productions, and the other major awards given for work in the theatre, such as the Tony Awards, the Drama Desk Awards, the Drama League Awards, the Outer Critics Circle Awards, the Obie Awards, and more.

For more information on the Theatre World Awards' organization, visit the Theatre World Awards' website.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.