1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Defunct Tony Awards

Conductor, Musical Director, Stage Technician, and Special Theatrical Event


Defunct Tony Awards

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began in 1947 to honor the best in theatre, both plays and musicals, along the Great White Way of Broadway in New York City.

While some awards were initiated along the way, some categories started early but were discontinued after a number of years. Below are the winners in the now defunct categories of Best Conductors and Musical Directors, Best Stage Technician, and Best Special Theatrical Event.

Conductors and Musical Directors

1948: Max Meth for Finian's Rainbow
1949: Max Meth for As the Girls Go
1950: Maurice Abravanel for Regina
1951: Lehman Engel for The Consul
1952: Max Meth for Pal Joey
1953: Lehman Engel for Wonderful Town and Gilbert and Sullivan Season
1954: Musical Conductor Louis Adrian for Kismet
1955: Thomas Schippers for The Saint of Bleecker Street
1956: Hal Hastings for Damn Yankees
1957: Franz Allers for My Fair Lady
1958: Herbert Greene for The Music Man
1959: Salvatore Dell'Isola for Flower Drum Song
1960: Frederick Dvonch for The Sound of Music
1961: Franz Allers for Camelot
1962: Elliot Lawrence for How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
1963: Donald Pippin for Oliver!
1964: Shepard Coleman for Hello, Dolly!


Stage Technician

1948: George Gebhardt
1950: Joe Lynn for Miss Liberty
1951: Richard Raven for The Autumn Garden
1952: Peter Feller for Call Me Madam
1953: Abe Kurnit for Wish You Were Here
1954: John Davis for Picnic
1955: Richard Rodda for Peter Pan
1956: Harry Green for Middle of the Night / Damn Yankees
1957: Howard McDonald (posthumously awarded) for Major Barbara
1958: Harry Romar for Time Remembered
1959: Sam Knapp for The Music Man
1960: John Walters for The Miracle Worker
1961: Teddy Van Bemmel for Becket
1963: Solly Pernick for Mr. President


Best Special Theatrical Event

2001: Blast! , Produced by Cook Group Inc. and Star of Indiana
2002: Elaine Stritch at Liberty, Produced by John Schreiber, Creative Battery, Margo Lion, Robert Cole, Dede Harris/Mort Swinsky, Cheryl Wiesenfeld, and The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival
2003: Russell Simmons' Def Poetry Jam on Broadway, Produced by Russell Simmons, Stan Lathan, Jonathan Reinis, Richard Martini, Larry Magid, Allen Spivak, Kimora Lee Simmons, Jeffrey Chartier, Stacy Carter, and Island Def Jam Music Group 2005: Billy Crystal 700 Sundays, Produced by Janice Crystal, Larry Magid, and Face Productions
2007: Jay Johnson: The Two and Only, Produced by Roger Alan Gindi, Stewart F. Lane & Bonnie Comley, Dan Whitten, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, Ken Grossman, Bob & Rhonda Silver, Michael A. Jenkins/Dallas Summer Musicals, Inc., and Wetrock Entertainment
2009: Liza's at The Palace, Produced by John Scher and Metropolitan Talent Presents, LLC, and Jubilee Time Productions, LLC

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.