1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Award for Best Costume Designer


Tony Award for Best Costume Designer

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began in 1947 in order to highlight the best of Broadway. Unlike the category for Best Lighting Designer, the Tony Award for Best Costume Designer has been in place since the Tonys' inception.

Only one tie has ever been declared for the category of Costume Designer, and that was in 1977 between a musical and a play. In 1961, the Tonys bestowed separate awards for the Costume Designer of a Musical and a Play, but reverted back to giving only one award the following year. Like the Tony for Best Lighting Designer, the category of Best Costume Designer was officially split in 2005 to acknowledge the different scope of work for the costumer of a Musical and that of a Play.

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:

Best Costume Designer

1947: Lucinda Ballard for Happy Birthday, Another Part of the Forest, Street Scene, John Loves Mary, The Chocolate Soldier
1948: Mary Percy Schenck for The Heiress
1949: Lemuel Ayers for Kiss Me Kate
1950: Aline Bernstein for Regina
1951: Miles White for Bless You All
1952: Irene Sharaff for The King and I
1953: Miles White for Hazel Flagg
1954: Richard Whorf for Ondine
1955: Cecil Beaton for Quadrille
1956: Alvin Colt for Pipe Dream
1957: Cecil Beaton for My Fair Lady
1958: Motley for The First Gentleman
1959: Rouben Ter-Arutunian for Redhead
1960: Cecil Beaton for Saratoga
1961: (Dramatic) Motley for Becket
1961: (Musical) Adrian and Tony Duquette for Camelot
1962: Lucinda Ballard for The Gay Life
1963: Anthony Powell for The School for Scandal
1964: Freddy Wittop for Hello, Dolly!
1965: Patricia Zipprodt for Fiddler on the Roof
1966: Gunilla Palmstierna-Weiss for Marat/Sade
1967: Patricia Zipprodt for Cabaret
1968: Desmond Heeley for Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead
1969: Louden Sainthill for Canterbury Tales
1970: Cecil Beaton for Coco
1971: Raoul Pene Du Bois for No, No Nanette
1972: Florence Klotz for Follies
1973: Florence Klotz for A Little Night Music
1974: Franne Lee for Candide
1975: Geoffrey Holder for The Wiz
1976: Florence Klotz for Pacific Overtures
1977: (tie) Theoni V. Aldredge for Annie and Santo Loquasto for The Cherry Orchard
1978: Edward Gorey for Dracula
1979: Franne Lee for Sweeney Todd
1980: Theoni V. Aldredge for Barnum
1981: Willa Kim for Sophisticated Ladies
1982: William Ivey Long for Nine
1983: John Napier for Cats
1984: Theoni V. Aldredge for La Cage aux Folles
1985: Florence Klotz for Grind
1986: Patricia Zipprodt for Sweet Charity
1987: John Napier for Starlight Express
1988: Maria Björnson for The Phantom of the Opera
1989: Claudio Segovio and Hector Orezzoli for Black and Blue
1990: Santo Loquasto for Grand Hotel, The Musical
1991: Willa Kim for The Will Rogers Follies
1992: William Ivey Long for Crazy for You
1993: Florence Klotz for Kiss of the Spider Woman - The Musical
1994: Ann Hould-Ward for Beauty and the Beast
1995: Florence Klotz for Show Boat
1996: Roger Kirk for The King and I
1997: Judith Dolan for Candide
1998: Julie Taymor for The Lion King
1999: Lez Brotherston for Swan Lake
2000: Martin Pakledinaz for Kiss Me, Kate
2001: William Ivey Long for The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical
2002: Martin Pakledinaz for Thoroughly Modern Millie
2003: William Ivey Long for Hairspray
2004: Susan Hilferty for Wicked
2005: (Play) Jess Goldstein for The Rivals
2005: (Musical) Catherine Zuber for The Light in the Piazza
2006: (Play) Catherine Zuber for Awake and Sing!
2006: (Musical) Gregg Barnes for The Drowsy Chaperone
2007: (Play) Catherine Zuber for The Coast of Utopia
2007: (Musical) William Ivey Long for Grey Gardens
2008: (Play) Katrina Lindsay for Les Liaisons Dangereuses
2008: (Musical) Catherine Zuber for Rodgers & Hammerstein's South Pacific
2009: (Play) Anthony Ward for Mary Stuart
2009: (Musical) Tim Hatley for Shrek The Musical
2010: (Play) Catherine Zuber for The Royal Family
2010: (Musical) Marina Draghici for Fela!
2011: (Play) Desmond Heeley for The Importance of Being Earnest
2011: (Musical) Tim Chappel & Lizzy Gardiner for Priscilla Queen of the Desert

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.