1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Award for Best Director of a Play

From 1947 to the Present


Tony Award for Best Director of a Play

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began in 1947 to honor the best performers, designers, creatives, and productions in the professional theatre world of Broadway in New York City.

The Tony Award for Best Director initially went to the director of a play or a musical. The category was split in 1960, becoming the Tony Award for Best Director of a Play and the Tony Award for Best Director of a Musical, to honor the different specialties of directing a play and the special challenges of directing musical productions.

Best Director (of a Play or Musical)

1947: Elia Kazan for All My Sons
1948: Joshua Logan for Mister Roberts
1949: Elia Kazan for Death of a Salesman
1950: Joshua Logan for South Pacific
1951: George S. Kaufman for Guys and Dolls
1952: José Ferrer for The Shrike / The Fourposter / Stalag 17
1953: Joshua Logan for Picnic
1954: Alfred Lunt for Ondine
1955: Robert Montgomery for The Desperate Hours
1956: Tyrone Guthrie for The Matchmaker
1957: Moss Hart for My Fair Lady
1958: Vincent J. Donehue for Sunrise At Campobello
1959: Elia Kazan for J.B.

Best Director of a Play

1960 Arthur Penn for The Miracle Worker
1962 Noel Willman for A Man for All Seasons
1963 Alan Schneider for Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
1964 Mike Nichols for Barefoot in the Park
1965 Mike Nichols for Luv and The Odd Couple
1966 Peter Brook for Marat/Sade
1967 Peter Hall for The Homecoming
1968 Mike Nichols for Plaza Suite
1969 Peter Dews for Hadrian VII
1970 Joseph Hardy for Child's Play
1971 Peter Brook for A Midsummer Night's Dream
1972 Mike Nichols for The Prisoner of Second Avenue
1973 A.J. Antoon for That Championship Season
1974 José Quintero for A Moon for the Misbegotten
1975 John Dexter for Equus
1976 Ellis Rabb for The Royal Family
1977 Gordon Davidson for The Shadow Box
1978 Melvin Bernhardt for Da
1979 Jack Hofsiss for The Elephant Man
1980 Vivian Matalon for Morning's at Seven
1981 Peter Hall for Amadeus
1982 Trevor Nunn/John Caird for The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby
1983 Gene Saks for Brighton Beach Memoirs
1984 Mike Nichols for The Real Thing
1985 Gene Saks for Biloxi Blues
1986 Jerry Zaks for The House of Blue Leaves
1987 Lloyd Richards for Fences
1988 John Dexter for M. Butterfly
1989 Jerry Zaks for Lend Me a Tenor
1990 Frank Galati for Grapes of Wrath
1991 Jerry Zaks for Six Degrees of Separation
1992 Patrick Mason for Dancing at Lughnasa
1993 George C. Wolfe for Angels in America: Millennium Approaches
1994 Stephen Daldry for An Inspector Calls
1995 Gerald Gutierrez for The Heiress
1996 Gerald Gutierrez for A Delicate Balance
1997 Anthony Page for A Doll's House
1998 Garry Hynes for The Beauty Queen of Leenane
1999 Robert Falls for Death of a Salesman
2000 Michael Blakemore for Copenhagen
2001 Daniel Sullivan for Proof
2002 Mary Zimmerman for Metamorphoses
2003 Joe Mantello for Take Me Out
2004 Jack O'Brien for Henry IV
2005 Doug Hughes for Doubt
2006 Nicholas Hytner for The History Boys
2007 Jack O'Brien for The Coast of Utopia
2008 Anna D. Shapiro for August: Osage County
2009 Matthew Warchus for God of Carnage
2010 Michael Grandage for Red
2011 Marianne Elliott and Tom Morris for War Horse

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Musicals & Theater
  4. Plays
  5. Tony Award for Best Director of a Play

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.