1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Best Actress in a Play

From 1947 to the Present


Tony Awards for Best Actress in a Play

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began as a small, unassuming event in 1947, bestowing trophies upon Broadway's best performers and productions.

Originally, this category honored Actresses in "Dramatic" non-musical productions, but in 1976, the category's name was changed to the Tony Award for Best Actress in a Play.

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:

Best Actress in a Play

1947 (tie): Ingrid Bergman in Joan of Lorraine and Helen Hayes in Happy Birthday
1948 (tie): Judith Anderson in Medea, Katharine Cornell in Antony and Cleopatra, and Jessica Tandy in A Streetcar Named Desire
1949: Martita Hunt in The Madwoman of Chaillot
1950: Shirley Booth in Come Back, Little Sheba
1951: Uta Hagen in The Country Girl
1952: Julie Harris in I Am a Camera
1953: Shirley Booth in Time of the Cuckoo
1954: Audrey Hepburn in Ondine
1955: Nancy Kelly in The Bad Seed
1956: Julie Harris in The Lark
1957: Margaret Leighton in Separate Tables
1958: Helen Hayes in Time Remembered
1959: Gertrude Berg in A Majority of One
1960: Anne Bancroft in The Miracle Worker
1961: Joan Plowright in A Taste of Honey
1962: Margaret Leighton in The Night of the Iguana
1963: Uta Hagen in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
1964: Sandy Dennis in Any Wednesday
1965: Irene Worth in Tiny Alice
1966: Rosemary Harris in The Lion in Winter
1967: Beryl Reid in The Killing of Sister George
1968: Zoe Caldwell in The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
1969: Julie Harris in Forty Carats
1970: Tammy Grimes in Private Lives (Revival)
1971: Maureen Stapleton in The Gingerbread Lady
1972: Sada Thompson in Twigs
1973: Julie Harris in The Last of Mrs. Lincoln
1974: Colleen Dewhurst in A Moon for the Misbegotten
1975: Ellen Burstyn in Same Time, Next Year
1976 : Irene Worth in Sweet Bird of Youth
1977: Julie Harris in The Belle of Amherst
1978: Jessica Tandy in The Gin Game
1979 (tie): Constance Cummings in Wings and Carole Shelley in The Elephant Man 1980: Phyllis Frelich in Children of a Lesser God
1981: Jane Lapotaire in Piaf
1982: Zoe Caldwell in Medea
1983: Jessica Tandy in Foxfire
1984: Glenn Close in The Real Thing
1985: Stockard Channing in Joe Egg
1986: Lily Tomlin in The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe
1987: Linda Lavin in Broadway Bound
1988: Joan Allen in Burn This
1989: Pauline Collins in Shirley Valentine
1990: Maggie Smith in Lettice and Lovage
1991: Mercedes Ruehl in Lost in Yonkers
1992: Glenn Close in Death and the Maiden
1993: Madeline Kahn in The Sisters Rosensweig
1994: Diana Rigg in Medea
1995: Cherry Jones in The Heiress
1996: Zoe Caldwell in Master Class
1997: Janet McTeer in A Doll's House
1998: Marie Mullen in The Beauty Queen of Leenane
1999: Judi Dench in Amy's View
2000: Jennifer Ehle in The Real Thing
2001: Mary-Louise Parker in Proof
2002: Lindsay Duncan in Private Lives
2003: Vanessa Redgrave in Long Day's Journey into Night
2004: Phylicia Rashad in A Raisin in the Sun
2005: Cherry Jones in Doubt
2006: Cynthia Nixon in Rabbit Hole
2007: Julie White in The Little Dog Laughed
2008: Deanna Dunagan in August: Osage County
2009: Marcia Gay Harden in God of Carnage
2010: Viola Davis in Fences
2011: Frances McDormand in Good People

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.