1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Best Choreographer - 1947-2011

From 1947 to the Present


Tony Awards for Best Choreographer - 1947-2011

Tony Award

Tony Awards
Tony Awards for Best Choreographer - 1947-2011

Tony Award winner Kathleen Marshall: Director & Choreographer, Anything Goes, Pajama Game, Grease, Nice Work If You Can Get It

Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images

The Tony Awards began in 1947 to pay homage to the best in Broadway theatrical productions.

The Tony Award for Best Choreographer has been awarded since the Tonys' beginning, however no award was given in 1985.

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:


Best Choreographer

1947 (tie): Agnes de Mille for Brigadoon and Michael Kidd for Finian's Rainbow
1948: Jerome Robbins for High Button Shoes
1949: Gower Champion for Lend An Ear
1950: Helen Tamiris for Touch and Go
1951: Michael Kidd for Guys and Dolls
1952: Robert Alton for Pal Joey
1953: Donald Saddler for Wonderful Town
1954: Michael Kidd for Can-Can
1955: Bob Fosse for The Pajama Game
1956: Bob Fosse for Damn Yankees
1957: Michael Kidd for Li'l Abner
1958: Jerome Robbins for West Side Story
1959: Bob Fosse for Redhead
1960: Michael Kidd for Destry Rides Again
1961: Gower Champion for Bye, Bye Birdie
1962: Joe Layton for No Strings
1963: Bob Fosse for Little Me
1964: Gower Champion for Hello, Dolly!
1965: Jerome Robbins for Fiddler on the Roof
1966: Bob Fosse for Sweet Charity
1967: Ron Field for Cabaret
1968: Gower Champion for The Happy Time
1969: Joe Layton for George M!
1970: Ron Field for Applause
1971: Donald Saddler for No, No, Nanette
1972: Michael Bennet for Follies
1973: Bob Fosse for Pippin
1974: Michael Bennett for Seesaw
1975: George Faison for The Wiz
1976: Michael Bennet and Bob Avian for A Chorus Line
1977: Peter Gennaro for Annie
1978: Bob Fosse for Dancin'
1979: Michael Bennett and Bob Avian for Ballroom
1980: Tommy Tune and Thommie Walsh for A Day in Hollywood/A Night in the Ukraine
1981: Gower Champion for 42nd Street
1982: Michael Bennett and Michael Peters for Dreamgirls
1983: Tommy Tune and Thommie Walsh for My One and Only
1984: Danny Daniels for The Tap Dance Kid
1986: Bob Fosse for Big Deal
1987: Gillian Gregory for Me and My Girl
1988: Michael Smuin for Anything Goes
1989: Cholly Atkins, Henry LeTang, Frankie Manning, and Fayard Nicholas for Black and Blue
1990: Tommy Tune for Grand Hotel, The Musical
1991: Tommy Tune for he Will Rogers Follies
1992: Susan Stroman for Crazy for You
1993: Wayne Cilento for The Who's Tommy
1994: Sir Kenneth MacMillan for Carousel
1995: Susan Stroman for Show Boat
1996: Savion Glover for Bring in 'da Noise/Bring in 'da Funk
1997: Ann Reinking for Chicago
1998: Garth Fagan for The Lion King
1999: Matthew Bourne for Swan Lake
2000: Susan Stroman for Contact
2001: Susan Stroman for The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical
2002: Rob Ashford for Thoroughly Modern Millie
2003: Twyla Tharp for Movin' Out
2004: Kathleen Marshall for Wonderful Town
2005: Jerry Mitchell for La Cage aux Folles
2006: Kathleen Marshall for The Pajama Game
2007: Bill T. Jones for Spring Awakening
2008: Andy Blankenbuehler for In The Heights
2009: Peter Darling, Billy Elliot for The Musical
2010: Bill T. Jones for Fela!
2011: Kathleen Marshall for Anything Goes

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Musicals & Theater
  4. Musicals
  5. Tony Awards for Best Choreographer - 1947-2011

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.