1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Best Orchestrations 1997-2012

From 1997 to 2012


Tony Awards for Best Orchestrations 1997-2012

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Antoinette Perry Award, better known as the Tony Award, recognizes productions and performing and design talents that epitomize the best of the current Broadway season. The first Tony Award ceremony was held in 1947, and over the years, categories have come and categories have gone.

In 1997, the category of Best Orchestrations was added to the Tony line-up to acknowledge the contributions of musical orchestrators.

1997: Jonathan Tunick for Titanic
1998: William David Brohn for Ragtime
1999: Ralph Burns and Douglas Besterman for Fosse
2000: Don Sebesky for Kiss Me, Kate
2001: Doug Besterman for The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical
2002: Doug Besterman & Ralph Burns for Thoroughly Modern Millie
2003: Billy Joel & Stuart Malina for Movin' Out
2004: Michael Starobin for Assassins
2005: Ted Sperling, Adam Guettel, and Bruce Coughlin for The Light in the Piazza
2006: Sarah Travis for Sweeney Todd
2007: Duncan Sheik for Spring Awakening
2008: Alex Lacamoire and Bill Sherman for In The Heights
2009: (tie) Martin Koch for Billy Elliot, The Musical and Michael Starobin and Tom Kitt for Next to Normal
2010: Daryl Waters and David Bryan for Memphis
2011: Larry Hochman and Stephen Oremus for The Book of Mormon
2012: Martin Lowe for Once

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.