1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Best Regional Theatre - 1948-2011

From 1948 to 2011


Tony Awards for Best Regional Theatre - 1948-2011

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began in 1947 to honor the best productions of Broadway, the professional theatre industry in New York City.

The Tonys first recognized the “Contribution To Development Of Regional Theatre” the following year in 1948. However, the category was discontinued and not revived for almost three decades.

The Tony Award for Best Regional Theatre is designed to recognize professional theatres outside the Broadway Theatre District in New York City which present high-quality revivals, promote new American productions, as well as present important foreign works. These regional theatres have become the birthing ground for many shows that have gone on to Broadway and become Tony winners themselves.

Best Regional Theatre:

1948: Robert Porterfield of Virginia Barter Theatre in Abingdon, Virginia
1976: The Arena Stage in Washington, D.C.
1977: Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles, California
1978: The Long Wharf Theatre in New Haven, Connecticut
1979: American Conservatory Theater in San Francisco, California
1980: Actors Theatre in Louisville, Kentucky
1981: Trinity Square Repertory Company in Providence, Rhode Island
1982: The Guthrie Theatre in Minneapolis, Minnesota
1983: Oregon Shakespeare Festival Association in Ashland, Oregon
1984: Old Globe Theatre in San Diego, California
1985: Steppenwolf Theater Company in Chicago, Illinois
1986: American Repertory Theater in Cambridge, Massachusetts
1987: San Francisco Mime Troupe in San Francisco, California
1988: South Coast Repertory in Costa Mesa, California
1989: Hartford Stage Company in Hartford, Connecticut
1990: Seattle Repertory Theatre in Seattle, Washington
1991: Yale Repertory Theater in New Haven, Connecticut
1992: The Goodman Theatre of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois
1993: La Jolla Playhouse in La Jolla, California
1994: McCarter Theatre in Princeton, New Jersey
1995: Goodspeed Opera House in East Haddam, Connecticut
1996: (Special Award) Alley Theatre of Houston in Houston, Texas
1997: (Special Award) Berkeley Repertory Theatre in Berkeley, California
1998: (Special Award) Denver Center Theatre Company in Denver, Colorado
1999: Crossroads Theatre Company in New Brunswick, New Jersey
2000: The Utah Shakespearean Festival in Cedar City, Utah
2001: Victory Gardens Theater in Chicago, Illinois
2002: Williamstown Theatre Festival in Williamstown, Virginia
2003: The Children's Theatre Company in Minneapolis, Minnesota
2004: Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park in Cincinnati, Ohio
2005: Theatre de la Jeune Lune in Minneapolis, Minnesota (defunct)
2006: Intiman Theatre in Seattle, Washington
2007: Alliance Theatre in Atlanta, GA
2008: Chicago Shakespeare Theater in Chicago, Illinois
2009: Signature Theatre in Arlington, Virginia
2010: The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center in Waterford, Connecticut
2011: Lookingglass Theatre Company in Chicago, Illinois

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.