1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Play

From 1977 to the Present


Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Play

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The Tony Awards began in 1947 to honor the best performers, designers, creatives, and productions along the Great White Way in New York City.

The Tony for Best Revival was first awarded in 1977 and called “Most Innovative Production of a Revival.” In 1980, the name of this award was changed to “Best Reproduction (Play or Musical),” and changed again in 1987 to its current moniker, the "Tony Award for Best Revival."

Similar to the Tony for Best Director, the category honoring the Best Revival began by combined both plays and musicals. In 1994, the category was split into the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Play and the Tony Award for Best Revival of Musical.

The Tony for Best Revival was not awarded in 1979.

Best Revival (or a Play or Musical):

1977: Porgy and Bess, Producers Sherwin M. Goldman and Houston Grand Opera
1978: Dracula, Producers Jujamcyn Theaters, Elizabeth I. McCann, John Wulp, Victor Lurie, Nelle Nugent, and Max Weitzenhoffer
1980: Morning's at Seven, Producers Elizabeth I. McCann, Nelle Nugent and Ray Larson
1981: The Pirates of Penzance, Producers Joseph Papp and The New York Shakespeare Festival
1982: Othello, Producers Barry and Fran Weissler and CBS Video Enterprises
1983: On Your Toes, Producers Alfred de Liagre, Jr., Roger L. Stevens, John Mauceri, Donald R. Seawell and Andre Pastoria
1984: Death of a Salesman, Producers by Robert Whitehead and Roger L. Stevens
1985: Joe Egg, Producers: The Shubert Organization, Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ivan Bloch and MTM Enterprises, Inc.
1986: Sweet Charity, Producers: Jerome Minskoff, James M. Nederlander, Arthur Rubin and Joseph Harris
1987: All My Sons, Producers: Jay H. Fuchs, Steven Warnick, and Charles Patsos
1988: Anything Goes, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, Gregory Mosher, and Bernard Gersten
1989: Our Town, Producers: Lincoln Center Theatre, Gregory Mosher, and Bernard Gersten
1990: Gypsy, Producers: Barry and Fran Weissler, Kathy Levin, and Barry Brown
1991: Fiddler on the Roof, Producers: Barry and Fran Weissler and Pace Theatrical Group
1992: Guys and Dolls, Producers: Dodger Productions, Roger Berlind, Jujamcyn Theaters/TV Asahi, Kardana Productions, and the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
1993: Anna Christie, Producers: Roundabout Theater Company and Todd Haimes

Best Revival of a Play

1994: An Inspector Calls, Producers: Noel Pearson, The Shubert Organization, Capital Cities/ABC, and Joseph Harris
1995: The Heiress, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, André Bishop, and Bernard Gersten
1996: A Delicate Balance, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, André Bishop, and Bernard Gersten
1997: A Doll's House, Producers: Bill Kenwright and Thelma Holt
1998: A View From the Bridge, Producers: Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, Roger Berlind, James M. Nederlander, Nathaniel Kramer, Elizabeth Ireland McCann, Roy Gabay, and Old Ivy Productions
1999: Death of a Salesman, Producers: David Richenthal, Jujamcyn Theaters, Allan S, Gordon, Fox Theatricals, Jerry Frankel, and The Goodman Theatre
2000: The Real Thing, Producers: Anita Waxman, Elizabeth Williams, Rob Kastner, Miramax Films, and The Donmar Warehouse
2001: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Producers: Michael Leavitt, Fox Theatricals, Anita Waxman, Elizabeth Williams, John York Noble, Randall L. Wreghitt, Dori Berinstein, and The Steppenwolf Theatre Company
2002: Private Lives, Producers: Emanuel Azenberg, Ira Pittelman, Scott Nederlander, Frederick Zollo, Nicholas Paleologos, Broccoli/Sine, James Nederlander, Kevin McCollum, Jeffrey Seller, and Duncan C. Weldon and Paul Elliott for Triumph Entertainment Partners Ltd.
2003: Long Day's Journey into Night, Producers: David Richenthal, Max Cooper, Eric Falkenstein, Anthony and Charlene Marshall, Darren Bagert, Kara Medoff, Lisa Vioni, and Gene Korf
2004: Henry IV, Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, André Bishop, and Bernard Gersten
2005: Glengarry Glen Ross, Producers: Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Jam Theatricals, Boyett Ostar Productions, Ronald Frankel, Philip Lacerte, Stephanie P. McClelland/CJM Productions, Barry Weisbord, Zendog Productions, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, Roundabout Theatre Company, Todd Haimes, Ellen Richard, and Julia C. Levy
2006: Awake and Sing! , Producers: Lincoln Center Theater, André Bishop, and Bernard Gersten
2007: Journey's End, Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, Stephanie P. McClelland, Bill Rollnick, James D'Orta, and Philip Geier
2008: Boeing-Boeing, Producers: Sonia Friedman Productions, Bob Boyett, Act Productions, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert G. Bartner, The Weinstein Company, Susan Gallin/Mary Lu Roffe, Broadway Across America, Tulchin/Jenkins/DSM, and The Araca Group
2009: The Norman Conquests, Producers: Sonia Friedman Productions, Steven Baruch, Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, Tom Viertel, Dede Harris, Tulchin/Bartner/Lauren Doll, Jamie deRoy, Eric Falkenstein, Harriet Newman Leve, Probo Productions, Douglas G. Smith, Michael Filerman/Jennifer Manocherian, Richard Winkler, Dan Frishwasser, Pam Laudenslager/Remmel T. Dickinson, Jane Dubin/True Love Productions, Barbara Manocherian/Jennifer Isaacson, and The Old Vic Theatre Company
2010: Fences, Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays and Scott Rudin
2011: The Normal Heart, Producers: Daryl Roth, Paul Boskind, Martian Entertainment, Gregory Rae, and Jayne Baron Sherman/Alexander Fraser

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.