1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tony Awards for Lighting Designer - 1970-2011


Tony Awards for Lighting Designer - 1970-2011

Tony Award

Tony Awards

The design artists who light the stage do more than just pick out gels and determine the size of light bulbs needed. Like the other theatrical design arts, such as Costume Design, Set Design, and Sound Design, the Lighting Designer's job is to help create the mood of the show, to transport the audience to another world -- the world of the story being told on stage.

Though the Tony Awards began in 1947, the Light Designer's contributions were not recognized by the Tonys until 1970. Over the years, musicals tended to dominate the category of best Lighting Design, possibly because lighting for a musical is more dramatic or more noticeable than the subtle lighting choices for plays.

Beginning in 2005, the Tony Award for Lighting Designer was split into two awards, one for the best Lighting Designer of a Musical and the other for the best Lighting Designer of a Play.

While more than one person who designed lighting for a Broadway show won in some years, thus far, the Tony Award for Lighting Designer has never resulted in a tie between the Lighting Designers of two productions.

Be sure to visit the other pages of Tony Award winner trivia and lists:


Tony Award for Lighting Designer

1970: Jo Mielziner for Child's Play
1971: R.H. Poindexter for Story Theatre
1972: Tharon Musser for Follies
1973: Jules Fisher for Pippin
1974: Jules Fisher for Ulysses in Nighttown
1975: Neil Peter Jampolis for Sherlock Holmes
1976: Tharon Musser for A Chorus Line
1977: Jennifer Tipton for The Cherry Orchard
1978: Jules Fisher for Dancin'
1979: Roger Morgan for The Crucifer of Blood
1980: David Hersey for Evita
1981: John Bury for Amadeus
1982: Tharon Musser for Dreamgirls
1983: David Hersey for Cats
1984: Richard Nelson for Sunday in the Park with George
1985: Richard Riddell for Big River
1986: Pat Collins for I'm Not Rappaport
1987: David Hersey for Les Misérables
1988: Andrew Bridge for The Phantom of the Opera
1989: Jennifer Tipton for Jerome Robbins' Broadway
1990: Jules Fisher for Grand Hotel, The Musical
1991: Jules Fisher for The Will Rogers Follies
1992: Jules Fisher for Jelly's Last Jam
1993: Chris Parry for The Who's Tommy
1994: Rick Fisher for An Inspector Calls
1995: Andrew Bridge for Sunset Boulevard
1996: Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer for Bring in 'da Noise/Bring in 'da Funk
1997: Ken Billington for Chicago
1998: Donald Holder for The Lion King
1999: Andrew Bridge for Fosse
2000: Natasha Katz for Aida
2001: Peter Kaczorowski for The Producers, the new Mel Brooks musical
2002: Brian MacDevitt for Into the Woods
2003: Nigel Levings for La Bohème
2004: Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer for Assassins
2005: (Play) Brian MacDevitt for The Pillowman
2005: (Musical) Christopher Akerlind for The Light in the Piazza
2006: (Play) Mark Henderson for The History Boys
2006: (Musical) Howell Binkley for Jersey Boys
2007: (Play) Brian MacDevitt, Kenneth Posner, and Natasha Katz for The Coast of Utopia
2007: (Musical) Kevin Adams for Spring Awakening
2008: (Play) Kevin Adams for The 39 Steps
2008: (Musical) Donald Holder for Rodgers & Hammerstein's South Pacific
2009: (Play) Brian MacDevitt for Joe Turner's Come and Gone
2009: (Musical) Rick Fisher for Billy Elliot, The Musical
2010: (Play) Neil Austin for Red
2010: (Musical) Kevin Adams for American Idiot
2011: (Play) Paule Constable for War Horse
2011: (Musical) Brian MacDevitt for The Book of Mormon

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Musicals & Theater
  4. Plays
  5. Tony Awards for Lighting Designer - 1970-2011

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.